African Peanut Butter Sweet Potato and Black Bean Stew

1 fat, 2 grain, 1.5 protein, 1 vegetable20140327-204503.jpg

I wanted to test out a recipe from a country (…or continent) I’ve never been to before. I chose Africa. Of course, Africa is huge so you can only imagine the range in cuisine. Central, East, South, and many other regions have their own signature dishes depending on the climate and environment.

I’ve only tried African cuisine once before at an Ethiopian restaurant in Boston and I wasn’t impressed. I was caught off guard by the fact everyones orders came served on the same dish. Plus I was forced to sit on a wooden stump. Granted, this was probably ten years ago and I was young, confused, and uncomfortable.

That being said, I’m so happy I tried this! The spices blend wonderfully; I will definitely be testing more African recipes. Maybe I’ll even make my own Injera (African flatbread)!
20140327-204514.jpg

This recipe was adapted from Vegangela

1/2 cup black beans [1 grain, 1 protein]

1/2 cup diced tomatoes (canned) [1 vegetable]

1/2 large (or 1 small) sweet potato, cubed [1 grain]

2 tbsp PB2 (or 1 tbsp peanut butter) [1/2 protein]

1/2 small onion, largely chopped

1/2 garlic clove, minced

1 tsp coconut oil [1 fat]

1/4 tsp chili powder

dash of cinnamon, cayenne pepper

1/4 cup water

>>Saute onion and sweet potato in a skillet. Add remaining ingredients and let simmer for a couple of minutes. Serve with rice.

 

Leave a Reply

