Oatmeal Fig Cookies

1 grain

20140223-165301.jpg

20140223-165309.jpg

Today I decided I am going to start adding more content to my blog. I’m also going to start posting questions to invite others to share their opinions/stories/comments/recipes. I want you to get a taste of my personality, not just my eats! That being said, I hope you like me as much as you like my food. Well, OK you can like the food a little more…

So anyways, today I was craving some fig newtons. While I was searching for recipes online I started craving oatmeal cookies….ugh, typical. So, in the end I combined the two to make my own recipe from scratch. They turned out to be so good that I may or may not have licked not only the spoon, but the bowl also (whoops). In the end, they were the perfect fix for my craving! The recipe yields about 27-30 cookies.

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup brown sugar

1.5 cups rolled oats

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 avocado

1 “flegg” (1 tbsp flaxseed meal + 3 tbsp water)

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

10 mission figlets

>> Preheat oven to 375F. Make your “flegg” and set it aside to thicken. In a bowl, cover the figlets with water and set aside to soak. Mash the meat of the avocado into a puree. Add the rest of the wet ingredients to the puree (including the flegg). In a separate bowl combine dry ingredients in and then slowly add the wet ingredients to the dry. Spray your cookie sheet or line it with parchment paper. For each cookie, drop about a tablespoon of batter and press down in the center to create room for the figs. Bake for about 20-25 minutes.

Spoon out the figlets into a blender and add about a tablespoon of the water they were soaking in. Once the cookies are cooled, top them with the blended figs.

*You can play around with the crunchiness of these. If you want a cakey cookie bake these for 15 mins and if you want more crunch to the edges bake for 25 mins.

Screen Shot 2014-02-23 at 5.23.15 PM

What’s your favorite out-of-the-ordinary cookie?

One comment

Leave a Reply

