Coconut Vanilla Fig Overnight Chia Flax Oats

4 fats, 1 fruit, 2 grains, 3 proteins

20140225-095557.jpgWow, that title is a mouthful! It does this recipe justice as you will definitely want a mouthful of this! For short, I prefer Coconut Vanilla Fig Overnight CFOs, but is it really that much shorter?

20140225-095534.jpg

I never liked the idea of eating a cold breakfast during the winter but recently, I’ve “warmed up” to overnight CFOs. They are gooey but crunchy with so much flavor and texture! It’s a smoothie without the hassle of cleaning the blender. I always leave the blender blades out to dry and end up cutting myself. Especially now that we recently bought a Ninja, I feel like I’m just asking for trouble!

20140225-095541.jpg

20140225-095551.jpg

Anyways, for this recipe I decided to use some of the leftover fig paste from the oatmeal fig cookies I made the other day. BOY what a great idea that was!

Did you know?: According to the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, figs have more fiber per serving than any other fruit!

“Traditionally, figs have been used to treat constipation, bronchitis, high cholesterol, eczema, chronic skin disease, white skin patches, and diabetes. Topically, its latex has been used to remove warts and treat skin tumors.” – Healthline

In the pictures above, I actually used flax meal instead of flaxseed. When I make it again, I’ll use whole flaxseed as I miss the extra crunch the whole seeds give:

1 tbsp. chia seed

1 tbsp. whole flax seed

1/3 cup oats

2/3 cup water

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder **

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

2 tbsp. dried coconut*

5 dried mission figlets

>>Blend the dried figs with a tbsp. of water. In a separate bowl, combine all ingredients. Add a spoonful of the fig paste into the bowl and cover. Shake all the ingredients together like a maraca (or simply mix with a spoon). Refrigerate for at least 5 hours (or overnight).

In the morning, top with more fig paste, and add 2 tbsp. coconut shreds. I also added dried goji berries for a color bonus.

*Although this recipe is high in fats, they are healthy.If you are looking to cut back, omit or add less coconut.

**Don’t have protein powder? Substitute water with milk (dairy/nondairy) and add sweetener(agave, honey, stevia) to taste. This will eliminate 2 protein exchanges.

What’s your favorite cold breakfast?

6 comments

  1. My favorite cold breakfast right now is 365 Whole Foods Market Bran Flakes with my own added unsweetened raisins. It’s a crunchy dessert! My favorites are always changing though :)… I’m such a foodie!

    Like

Leave a Reply

