Mexican Black Bean Burrito

2.5 fats, 2 grains, 2 proteins, 2 vegetables

20140225-151355.jpg

Well well what do you know, more snow in the forecast! All morning I was dreaming of laying on the beach. The sun radiating above as I dug my toes into the warm sand. Ahhh, the good life.

20140225-151412.jpg

Then I snapped back to reality.

Since I can’t lay in an all-inclusive resort, I decided to bring some Mexican flavors up north. I filled my burrito with none other than the black bean. Black beans are packed with fiber, and according to the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, they also have more antioxidant activity than other beans to fight against cancer and the aging process.

Would you look at that! I went to Mexico and came back younger using the recipe below:

1/2 cup drained black beans [1 grain, 1 protein]

1/4 cup corn [1/2 grain]

2 cup vegetables (I used onions, tomatoes, peppers)  [2 vegetables]

1 tsp. olive oil [1 fat]

1 whole grain tortilla [1 grain, 1/2 fat, 1 protein]

1/5 avocado [1 fat]

1/2 lemon

GARNISH: slice of lemon, cilantro, spinach

SPICES: chili powder, paprika, cumin, oregano, chile pepper, garlic powder
*use all, some, or none depending on your preference

>>Heat oil in a skillet and brown chopped vegetables. Add corn, black beans, and spices. Squeeze about 1 tbsp. lemon juice over mixture. Serve on whole grain tortilla with spinach, cilantro and avocado.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

