Sweet Root Vegetable Bake and Orange Quinoa Salad Lunch

20140301-144557.jpg

When I was about 14, a tragedy struck in the kitchen of my home. My mom screamed and called me to come running as fast as I could. She started waving her hand, “I cut my finger off!!!!!”. Her hand was covered in this purplish dye…from the beets she was cooking. “You’re not funny”.

I’m assuming I rolled my eyes or made some teenage snarly remark. The tragedy of this event? I had to run to the kitchen without cookies waiting for me at the end. If you ever decide to make this lunch, try out the old trick while you’re cutting the beets. Maybe it’ll actually work!

Sweet Potato, Beet, and Apple Bake with Caramelized Walnuts [3 fat, 1/2 fruit, 2 grain, 1 protein, 1 vegetable]

Orange Spinach Quinoa Salad [1/2 fruit, 1 grain, 1 protein, 1 vegetable]

1 cup berries [1 fruit]

1/4 cup greek yogurt [1 protein]

1 cup omega-3 fortified soy milk [1 dairy]

Leave a Reply

