Healthy Russian Crepes “Blini”

[2 fats, 2 grains]

20140303-110614.jpgInstead of pancakes and waffles on sundays, my mother and grandmother always made blini. I grew up eating these all the time. Sometimes with caviar, yogurt, honey, condensed milk, the list goes on. My grandmother stuffed them with meat and sometimes with cottage cheese to make blintzes.

So what’s the difference between a crepe and blini? I honestly have no idea. For all I know they are the same thing.

I decided to take my grandmother’s recipe and analyze it for exchanges as well as make a few healthier swaps. Here is the family not-so-secret recipe: 2 eggs, ¼ tsp. salt, ¼ tsp. sugar, ½ cup milk, 2 cups flour, 2 tbsp. oil

Here is my single serve edition:

  • 1/3 cup whole wheat flour * [2 grains]
  • 2 tsp. coconut oil [2 fat]
  • 1 tbsp. egg whites
  • 1/2 cup milk (dairy/non-dairy) [1/2 dairy]
  • pinch of salt & sugar

>> Combine wet ingredients, then add to dry. Heat skillet and line with a cooking spray. Pour batter** onto skillet and move the pan around so that the batter covers the whole skillet with a thin layer. Once the sides start to curl and the bottom is golden, flip it and cook the other side until it is golden. Repeat until your batter is gone. (This recipe should only make 1-2 blini depending on your skillet size).

*Any type of flour will work fine.

**Your batter should be extremely thin. Here is my grandmother’s “blini” test: Stick your finger in the batter and and rub to feel the consistency. It should be thick enough to feel the flour grains, but thinner than that of a pancake or waffle batter.

Today I enjoyed my blini with 3 fruit servings and Justin’s honey almond butter

How do you eat your crepes?

One comment

Leave a Reply

