Carrot Cake Oatmeal

1 fruit, 2 grains, 1/2 vegetable

20140311-165537.jpg

I bought a 5 lb bag of carrots.

If you’re wondering why, I have absolutely no answer to give you. I just felt like it. I’m still in shock myself since no one else in the family eats it.
20140311-163852.jpgAs you might expect, I’ve been eating a lot of carrots and creating a lot of carrot recipes. I like to think of it as practice for whenever Easter rolls around….in a month right?

Hopefully I’m not sick of it by then. In the mean time I get to try out really fun and delicious new recipes like this one!

P.S. Please share your carrot dishes. I’m not completely desperate but I’ll be there soon…

1/2 cup uncooked oats [2 grains]

1 cup water or milk

2 tbsp raisins [1 fruit]

1/4 cup shredded carrots [1/2 vegetable]

~1/2 tbsp sugar / 1 packet stevia

1/2 tsp vanilla

pinch of salt

>>Bring water to a boil. Add all ingredients and reduce to simmer. Cook until most liquid evaporates.

Garnish with toasted walnuts or coconut

2 comments

Leave a Reply

