Soy Ginger Quinoa Salad

1 grain, 2 protein, 1 1/2 vegetable20140312-203652.jpg

Have you ever watched the documentary Blackfish?

I decided to watch it last night after I heard about the new bill being proposed by a California state legislator. The bill would ultimately ban the captivity of Orcas, causing major disruption at Sea World.

I’m fairly good at watching documentaries. By this I mean I try to juxtapose and decontextualize the information presented. However, watching this documentary was eye opening. I was shocked and often times uncomfortable. Now that’s a documentary.

20140312-203659.jpg

If you’re interested in marine biology, politics, or enterprise corruption I would definitely suggest watching Blackfish. I’d love to hear what you all think of it!

I watched Blackfish while eating this Soy Ginger Quinoa Salad. I would highly suggest doing the same.

1/2 cup cooked quinoa [1 grain, 1 protein]

1/2 cup edamame [1 protein, 1 vegetable]

1/4 cup cucumber & carrot, chopped [1/2 vegetable]

1 small garlic clove, minced

1 tsp soy sauce/ tamari

1 tsp rice vinegar

1 tsp ginger, minced/chopped

>>Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Top with toasted sesame seeds.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

