Sweet Potato Stacks

1 fat, 1 fruit, 1 protein, 2 grains

20140317-185801.jpg

As you know, I have a huge sweet tooth. This is my go-to dessert for dinner. It is such an easy recipe that can be made ahead of time and assembled in seconds to serve.

I could go on and on about my love for this recipe. I make so many variations of it. When I’m not trying to be fancy with my presentation, I cut the sweet potato into cubes and serve them over brown rice with the other ingredients. Delicious.

20140317-185805.jpg

Quick Facts: Sweet Potatoes are high in vitamins A, C, and B6. They have anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, and blood sugar regulating components. To absorb all the benefits of beta-carotene it’s important to eat the sweet potato with some fats.

Don’t forget to please fill out this brief survey when you have a chance! I will be posting the results this weekend.

1 sweet potato [2 grains]

1/4 cup full fat greek yogurt [1 fat, 1 protein]

2 tbsp raisins [1 fruit]

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tbsp agave

>> Cut the sweet potato into disks (or cubes). Bake at 350F for about 20-30 mins until cooked through. Layer disks with yogurt and raisins. Drizzle with cinnamon and agave. *

*As I said, I prefer serving the sweet potatoes in cubes over brown rice. To keep the same exchange counts, simply use 1/2 sweet potato and 1/2 cup brown rice.

Leave a Reply

