Coconut Quinoa with Ginger Pears

[2 fat, 1 fruit, 1 grain, 2 protein]
20140330-162552.jpg

I’ve had a pear sitting in the freezer for over a month now. It just stares at me and I’m getting annoyed looking at it. This morning I ended the torture!20140330-162608.jpg

Pears are high in fiber and antioxidants. Just one pear has about half of your daily need of flavonols. Flavonols are plant pigments that protect the cells from oxygen damage, prevent excess inflammation, and help protect blood vessels from leakage or breakage. You can read more about the anti-inflammatory, antioxidant, and anti-cancer properties of pears here.
20140330-162613.jpg

 

1/2 cup cooked quinoa [1 grain, 1 protein]

3/4 cup milk (dairy or non-dairy)

3 tbsp egg whites, or 1 egg [1 protein]

1/4 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp ground ginger

1-2 tsp sugar

1/2 pear [1 fruit]

2 tbsp coconut shreds [1 fat]

4 walnut halves, chopped [1 fat]

>>Bring the milk to a boil. Add the cooked quinoa and lower heat to a simmer. Add the ginger, vanilla, and sugar. Let everything cook, uncovered, for about 20 minutes or until most of the milk has been absorbed. Add the pears, walnuts, and egg whites. Let it thicken, and then top with coconut shreds.

7 comments

  1. This looks delicious! I have all of these ingredients and ironically I have a bowl of leftover plain cooked quiona from yesterday starting me in the face everytime I open the fridge. I was actually going to look up a recipe and I saw this, thank you!!! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

