Ginger Nama Shoyu Adventurer Bowl: Life Alive Remake

2 1/2 fat, 4 grain, 2 protein, 3 vegetable20140304-142505.jpg

A few months ago I tried out a local restaurant called Life Alive. I think it’s safe to say I was hooked after my first visit. Their meals are hearty,balanced, filling, and so nutritious!
20140304-142522.jpg

I could rave on and on about them, but I’ll spare you. They have three locations, but the closest one is 25 minutes from my house. Today I decided to try to remake their “Adventurer” Bowl. Here‘s the image they have on their website. Here is my version:

20140304-142530.jpgI usually order “The Adventurer” in a wrap so that I can get everything in one bite. I highly suggest you make it like this. I didn’t have any wraps in the kitchen so instead I served it on a plate with small tortillas. The colors alone should make you want to try this.It is one of my absolute favorite meals. SOO GOOD!

Life Alive’s Sesame Ginger Nama Shoyu Dressing (1-2 servings) adapted from SarahFit:

1 garlic glove

1″ freshly minced/chopped ginger

1/2 tbsp tamari (or soy sauce)

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp tahini [1 fat]

1 tbsp water

The Adventurer (1 serving) adapted from Life Alive:

2 leaves Kale

1/2 cup corn [1 grain, 1 vegetable]

1 beet [1 vegetable]

1/2 cup broccoli, steamed [1/2 vegetable]

1/2 cup baby carrots, steamed [1/2 vegetable]

1 oz cheddar cheese [1 protein, 1 fat] 

1 cup cooked quinoa & brown rice blend* [3 grains, 1 protein]

1 tbsp almonds [1/2 fat]

>> Cook the beet by boiling it in water for about 10-15 mins. Chop almonds and roast them slightly to bring out flavor. Chop kale and steam broccoli & baby carrots. Add cheese to cooked quinoa and brown rice blend. Combine all ingredients in a wrap, or serve on a plate with tortilla slices on the side.

*I used Seeds of Change ready to heat packs, but you can make your own. I suggest 3/4 cup brown rice to 1/4 cup quinoa.

7 comments

  1. This recipe! Oh my god, this recipe! And the sauce… I’m thoroughly enjoying it and will be making it often. Wow!!! Me and my boyfriend like to have avocado and garlic added to this when we go to Life Alive so we also added it to this recipe! We also added Sriracha because we add the hot sauce they offer at Life Alive. And lastly, we also added sprouted mustard greens because we didn’t have any sprouted legumes on hand. Thank you so so much!

    Like

Leave a comment