Jamaican Rice and Bean Salad

1/2 fruit, 2 grains, 1 protein, 1/2 vegetable
20140312-145227.jpg

This may seem random but why do people talk to themselves?

I always feel like I’m doing something wrong when someone talks to themselves. I mean, you’d rather talk to yourself than another actual human being? Haha I’m not that bad am I?!

20140312-145246.jpg

Most of the time it makes sense not to include others in our personal conversations, but it still makes me wonder why we talk to ourselves.

Just a random thought.

Anyways, we had such good weather earlier this week that today I decided to make a more tropical dish: Jamaican Rice and Bean Salad! The brown rice completes the protein in the beans to make this an extremely balanced meal with almost all of the food groups covered.

20140312-145254.jpg1/2 cup cooked brown rice [1 grain]

1/2 cup black beans [1 grain, 1 protein]

1 tbsp red onion, chopped

3 tbsp red/yellow pepper, chopped [1/2 vegetable]

1/4 cup pineapple, chopped [1/2 fruit]

1 tsp lime juice

salt & pepper to taste

>>Toss all ingredients in a bowl. Serve chilled or fry in a skillet with 1 tsp oil.

One comment

Leave a comment